top of page

About Us

Located in the heart of the Village of La Jolla, the La Jolla Tennis Club is a 501 (c)4 non-profit that has served this community since it was chartered in 1923. 


LJTC maintains nine city-owned courts as a public facility. Five of the nine courts are equipped with lights. The LJTC, while on city land, maintains the facilities and is responsible for the capital improvements.


LJTC serves more than 550 members annually in addition to guests and non-members. It delivers opportunities for playing social & competitive local leagues, competing in USTA tennis, and improving skills through clinics & private lessons. 


LJTC boasts a thriving juniors tennis program, offering opportunities for youth to experience the sport through clinics, camps and private lessons.


LJTC hosts a free two week summer clinic for juniors ages 6 to 12 who might not otherwise find access to instruction.


The LJTC  hosts the Annual La Jolla Tennis Championships which routinely attracts over 1,000 top players from surrounding areas. The LJTC has hosted the La Jolla Championships every year since 1917, which gives this tournament the distinction of being the longest running tennis tournament continually held at the same venue in the world.

History Of The Club

Historical Timeline of Court Development at LJTC

by Bob Killion, Historian

  • 1915: Courts 3, 4, & 5 donated by Helen Browning Scripps with lights on wood poles

  • 1927 – 28: Court 1 built by City of San Diego

  • 1938: Land on East side of Draper Street purchased by LJTC from Bishop’s School for $1000 & donated to S. D. City

  • 1949: Courts 7 & 8 built by City of San Diego

  • 1957 – 58: Court 2 built with funds donated by Las Patronas

  • 1964: Court 6 built with matching funds from LJTC

  • 1966: Court 9 built with matching funds from LJTC.


Our Sponsors

LJ concierge md logo.png
Screenshot 2024-05-07 at 2.11.43 PM.png
sushi nekosan logo final2 JPG.jpg
RSW Logo.jpeg
bottom of page